Skip to main content

Our Community Focus

Pleasant Hill November Election Results

Dec 28, 2016 01:35PM ● By Jennifer Neys

City Council Election Results
Ken Carlson
Tim Flaherty

Matthew Rinn 

There were three seats on the city council being contested. Incumbents Ken Carlson and Tim Flaherty were re-elected along with newly elected Matthew Rinn who won David Durant’s vacant seat. All three took their seats on the new city council on December 19. City Treasurer Mark Celio, ran unopposed.

Measure K – Transaction and Use Tax

Yes 67.09% of the vote

No 32.91% of the vote

Measure K will enact a ½ cent transactions and use tax (sales tax) for 20 years, allowing the city to address infrastructure and service priorities that Pleasant Hill residents have indicated are important. The measure will generate an estimated $4 million each year in additional revenue for the city – money that cannot legally be taken by the state or other agencies.

Measure K will establish a Citizens' Oversight Committee to ensure that all voter-approved funds will be spent appropriately. Measure K will take effect April 1, 2017. The sales tax rate in Pleasant Hill will go from 8.25% to 8.75% on that date.