Walnut Creek’s Treasure
May 01, 2017 01:48PM ● Published by Elena Hutslar
Shadelands Ranch Museum, located at 2660 Ygnacio Valley Road, is a Walnut Creek treasure. Construction on this colonial revival house was started in 1902 and completed in 1903 for Hiram Penniman, one of Walnut Creek’s early settlers, with his wife, Carrie, and daughter, Mary. Much of the furniture and household items on display belonged to the Penniman family. The house is administered by the Walnut Creek Historical Society and is open for tours on Wednesdays and Sundays from 1- 4pm. The fee is $3 for adults, $1 for children 6-17, free for children under 6, and free for anyone with a Discover and Go pass available at the Walnut Creek Library. Come for a tour, learn about the origins of the ranch, enjoy the architecture and antiques, and see what life was like in Walnut Creek 115 years ago.